Automating the UI

9 02 2007

I started off in the latest organization with the automation of web pages. They already have a suite which uses JavaScript to do some of the automation, but it is mostly based on the concept of using ActiveX controls to read and write to files. If I wish to test out any of the other browsers, I would have to either put a conditional statement there or to have a couple of workarounds which will work in both IE and FF [these being the popular ones these days]. Again with IE7 I faced another problem on ActiveX, so it goes out of the scope.
Now what the basic framework developed does, is simply to search for a given ID tag and do some action on that. But the UI has started using some ‘dojo’ elements and these usually get a dynamic Id which cannot be found when the application is created with the JavaScript elements. So I am back to the drawing board with this. I took me some time to also get the pause facility in JavaScript to start working. Now, I know that JavaScript is derived from the same base as was ActionScript, i.e., ECMA Standard, but it has a lot of differences and nuisances of its own and its varied development cycles to make it all the more difficult to work on.

So, currently I am back to the drawing board to check if I can make out something with the ‘setTimeout()’ function, or do I go with a Pause class in JavaScript. The other alternate being the function where a while loop is used and the system waits for the given time to finish off. Now with these alternates I have one problem which keeps creeping up – the browser starts to pop up messages which say ‘A Script is running slowly and might effect the system. Do you want to stop it?’. Well! what the !@#$%^&* hell can’t the browser be intuitive enough to know that I am deliberately pausing the script to acomplish something…

Actions

Information

One response

25 04 2013
Internet Money Path

What’s up, this weekend is nice in favor of me, for the reason that this moment i am reading this enormous educational post here at my house.

Leave a Reply

