Bidding Adieu to Yahoo!

16 06 2010

It has been an awesome journey for me in Yahoo!. I have made some great friendships, which would last a lifetime and also managed to get to know some good people with whom I would like to be associated with now and in the future. This was a long journey (one of my longest tenure in a single organization), which was filled with a lot of learning and strives, some I faced with confidence and others where I did falter. A good journey altogether, which matured me and made me look at life from the eyes of others who mattered. During this journey, I met the person with whom I plan to spend the rest of my lifetime and have been managing to steer myself through mood swings and great loving times.

Yahoo! as a company, is one Great place to work for. You get all the freedom to do what you want, get to travel (and expense it to company accounts – when you go for Campus or Regular Interviews). You imbibe a lot of learning, most of which is available to you through theย labyrinth, which in Yahoo! yodel, we call the TWiki (the Technical Wiki), although most of the material available freely on it is no where near ‘technical’ ๐Ÿ™‚

The Yahoo! culture is one great learning force, which enhances the knowledge of many a fresh faces and minds. Many have tried to introduce some sort of process into this madness, in the form of ‘Yet Another Technical Place’, but the culture of adhoc’ism prevails and drives the energy and work force to yet newer and innovative levels. (I know I am going to get a reprimand from my oldest mentor, for such a long sentence, but couldn’t help it ๐Ÿ™‚ )

Yahoo! is a brand name, which lives in the life’s of online people around the world, it is synonymous with the Internet, and might have lost its sheen in search, but is still a force to contend with when it comes content. It supplies the best on the web, without doubt. It was “Jerry and David’s Guide to the Web” and has remained “THE Guide to the Web”. Critics have said that Jerry should have taken the decision in favour of Microsoft, but they are not the people who have nurtured the Organization to the stage at which it is today. Yes, Jerry does have sentimental values for a company he created, but he took the right decision. Yahoo! is a BRAND, which stands out on the big bad Web, and Jerry knew he could turn it into a profitable venture. He has brought in the right person to bring about this change. She may be a bit outspoken, but she is making the right decisions to keep all happy.

Ok, enough of this rant. To conclude, I would say that Yahoo! has great internal talent pool and a culture to moot for. Now that is being cultivated to bring about the required changes to make Yahoo! happen.

My colleagues and friends made it a GREAT day for me and I was for once really feeling hollow and devoid of words on what to thank them with. It really does not feel that I am leaving, and saying good-bye to all that I have enjoyed and nourished. I do not wish to do so, specially after 3 1/2 years of being here. But, as they say – “All Good Things Have To Come To An End!!”, so does my really great innings at Yahoo!.

Thanks All for being there and all the help and love rendered over this long fruitful journey!

Adieu, Afscheid and Sustantivo…

Actions

Information

11 responses

16 06 2010
Mohan

All the best dude. Miss you for sure. Nevertheless, we will find a replacement and continue our journey. Possibly starting off with “vermination”. Have fun and keep in touch.

19 06 2010
gs

Thanks Mohan! ๐Ÿ™‚
Yeah! Don’t “verminate” the replacement too fast (that is if you can ever find a replacement, I am irreplaceable :-P)

16 06 2010
hardik

Great going Gags! Keep up! (one Yahoo less) ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

18 06 2010
Ankur A

Congrts Gags once again…We ll miss u for sure…:(
All the best and keep rocking ….:)

19 06 2010
gs

Thanks! ๐Ÿ™‚
Keep in touch and hopefully will see you with OO-La-La soon!! ๐Ÿ˜€

18 06 2010
Gautam

Cry baby…….didnt realize that its been 3.5 yrs… long long time pal ๐Ÿ™‚

All the best with ur new assignment… u will do awesome

19 06 2010
gs

LOL… yeah was feeling a bit too senti ๐Ÿ˜›
(after all first company where i stayed for 3.5 years :-D)

19 06 2010
Happy

vvvvvv Good.now u can seek a carrier as a writer tooo.anyway i like it!!

19 06 2010
gs

Yes will start looking for it ๐Ÿ™‚

23 06 2010
RM

“(I know I am going to get a reprimand from my oldest mentor, for such a long sentence, but couldnโ€™t help it …”

Appreciate that:-)

Damned good writing!

RM

26 07 2010
Rohit

Good to read such a senti write-up. It was really great to work with you at Yahoo! and McAfee ( :D)

Leave a Reply

